IPL 2020 Final: Defending Champions Mumbai Dominate Delhi

Recent Stories

IPL 2020 Final: Defending Champions Mumbai Dominate Delhi

12 Nov 2020 119 Views Meet Raut

IPL 2020: Awards list and Summary of the Dream11 IPL Final


IPL 2020 Final Date: 10th November 2020

IPL 2020 Final Venue: Dubai International Stadium, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

IPL 2020 Finalists: Mumbai Indians (i) vs Delhi Capitals (ii)

IPL 2020 Final's Man of the Match: Trent Boult

IPL 2020 Player of the Tournament: Jofra Archer

IPL 2020 Fairplay Award: Mumbai Indians

IPL 2020 Orange Cap Leader: KL Rahul (670 Runs)

Bharat Army: IPL 2020 Orange Cap Leaderboard

IPL 2020 Purple Cap Leader: Kagiso Rabada (30 Wickets)

Bharat Army: IPL 2020 Purple Cap Leaderboard

IPL 2020 Emerging Player: Devdutt Padikkal

Most Sixes in IPL 2020: Ishan Kishan

Bharat Army: Most Sixes in IPL 2020

Summary of IPL 2020 FINAL:

The defending champions and the most successful team in the IPL history MI took on a young DC team who were playing in their first IPL Final. Mumbai Indians started as the favourites while cricket fans of most of the remaining 7 franchises hoped for a new champion to be crowned.

Bharat Army: Trent Boult celebrating the wicket in the first ball of IPL Final 2020

(Image courtesy: https://www.iplt20.com/photos)

Delhi Capitals won the toss and elected to bat first in what was a crucial decision as the stats showed that MI had previously won four finals after batting first. However, things did not go according to the plan as MI struck early once again to cripple the DC top order. Trent Boult took two wickets to put DC on the back foot.

At 22-3 in just the fourth over, it seemed as though it would be yet another dominating performance by the Mumbai bowlers, but Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant showed some resistance to get DC back into the match. Both the players scored half-centuries to put Delhi in a commanding position.

Bharat Army: Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer fighting back against Mumbai Indians

(Image courtesy: https://www.iplt20.com/photos)

The way they both were batting, DC looked set to out a big score on board. The MI bowling department made an excellent come back as Jasprit Bumrah tightened up the leakage and other bowlers took crucial wickets to restrict the score to 156. There was a shift of momentum towards the end and DC fell short by 20-30 runs of what they should have got, with the position they were in.

The MI batting has been ruthless this season and they showed it once again. Quinton De Kock and Rohit Sharma took the attack to the DC bowlers as they smashed boundaries all around the park to give an explosive start to MI.

Bharat Army: Marcus Stoinis celebrates the wicket of Quinton de Kock

(Image courtesy: https://www.iplt20.com/photos)

The golden man for DC Marcus Stoinis dismissed De Kock on the very first ball of his spell to give DC fans a glimmer of hope. However, the talking point of the match was the wicket of Surya Kumar Yadav. Things seemed going as usual for MI when Rohit Sharma wrongly judged a single which was never on. SKY sacrificed his wicket for the skipper as he was runout in the IPL Final 2020.

Bharat Army: Rohit Sharma devasted after the runout of Surya Kumar Yadav

(Image courtesy: https://www.iplt20.com/photos)

Rohit Sharma made sure to make amends for his mistake as he played a match-winning inning of 68 to take Mumbai closer to their 5th IPL title. Delhi never had a chance after that as MI were ruthless in the chase to take home the IPL trophy once again.

Trent Boult was the Man of the Match for his 3 wickets to demolish the DC batting lineup. This was only the second time a team had successfully defended their title, the first being Chennai Super Kings in 2010 and 2011. MI were the deserving Champion as they showed their absolute dominance in their quest for yet another trophy. They were a level above the rest and it showed.

Bharat Army: Dream11 Indian Premier League Champions 2020 Mumbai Indians

(Image courtesy: https://www.iplt20.com/photos)

Meet Raut


IND vs NZ- Test Series Preview

24, Nov 21

India aim to resume home dominance against World Test champions New Zealand, as they begin the first match of a two match test series again the Kiwis in Kanpur on Thursday, November 25.

IND vs NZ - A clean series sweep for Team India

23, Nov 21

So, the 'new era' as it's been called in Indian T20I cricket under the leadership duo of captain Rohit Sharma and head coach Rahul Dravid started on a dream note as the home side beat New Zealand 3-0 in the three-match series last week.

Rahul-Rohit Duo Ready to Excel Team India

16, Nov 21

After a heartbreaking performance in ICC T20 World Cup, Team will look to start a new era under the leadership of new head coach Rahul Dravid and the new captain of the T20 side that will face New Zealand Rohit Sharma.

Virat Kohli and T20 WC's: A one-sided love affair!

10, Nov 21

With Virat announcing that the T20 World Cup will be his swansong as skipper in the shortest format of the game, we take a look at Kohli's tenure as the T20 Captain during the World Cups.

Spread the tell a friend